British Hydrological Society 2014 Symposium – presentation

At the beginning of September the British Hydrological Society held its biannual (every two years) symposium. I presented a presentation and a poster during this conference. Below is the presentation I gave.

A few caveats:

  • This is work in progress and not peer reviewed – so subject to change
  • I present a lot of information vocally and so these slides only tell half the story

Please feel free to ask questions in the comments and I’ll try to answer them. The take away message is that negative NAO tends to produce snowier winters, but that there is an observing bias because positive NAO tends to mean more cloud cover and so observed snow decreases, not necessarily the presence of snow.

If you’d like to know what this may mean, have a look at this paper (pay wall), which a friend recently pointed me to.

